English Deutsch


Every two years the Rudolf Schülke Foundation awards the Hygiene Prize and the Hygieia Medal during a festive ceremony.

The Rudolf Schülke Foundation awards the Hygiene Prize biennially to scientists who have achieved remarkable solutions to problems in the area of hygiene, microbiology and preventive medicine.

In 2018 the Hygiene Prize, worth € 15,000,- was awarded to Bernhard Krismer, RNDr (Tuebingen, Germany) for his work titled: Human commensals producing a novel antibiotic impair pathogen colonization.

In February 2020, the Rudolf Schülke Foundation presents the next Hygiene Prize. Information on how to take part in the Hygiene-Prize competition 2020 will be published on this site in summer 2018.

Along with the Hygiene Prize the Foundation awards the Hygieia Medal every two years. This medal is intended to honour those people who have devoted their lives' work to hygiene and microbiology.

2018 the Hygieia Medal was awarded to Professor Philippe Hartemann University Nancy, France in recognition of his excellent contributions to the field of hygiene in research, theory and practical application.

Hygiene Prize


Hygieia Medal

Hygieia Medaille

Rudolf Schülke Foundation
Robert-Koch-Str. 2
22851 Norderstedt I Germany
Phone: +49 40 52100-562
Fax: +49 40 52100-7562

Andrea Rodewald
Phone: +49 40 52100-562